Camborne and Redruth Mining District

Camborne and Redruth Mining District A5 Wheal Peevor Group copyright A Cocks at Cornwall Council

The mining districts of Camborne and Redruth were at the centre of metal mining in Cornwall and west Devon.

Here were the largest concentration of deep-lode mine workings of anywhere in the south-west of Britain, within both granite and ‘killas’, and also two towns which became the engineering and mercantile heartlands for hard-rock mining. This Area is also unique as it contains three Cornish-design beam engines in situ within their original houses. A 30-inch (0.76m) cylinder beam winding engine is preserved at Michell's shaft, East Pool and Agar Mine along with its sister engine, a larger 90-inch (2.28m) pumping engine, at Taylor's Shaft.

The nearby Robinson's Shaft pumping engine at South Crofty Mine is an 80-inch (2.0m) cylinder machine which was the last to pump on a metal mine in Cornwall until it was superseded by electric pumps in May 1955.

The miners’ ‘safety fuse’ was also invented at nearby Tuckingmill in 1831 which was to become an innovation with global significance. Much of the Bickford Smith factory complex which made this survives including its imposing granite façade and the distinctive ‘saw-tooth’ roofed jute-spinning mill adjacent.

Photograph reproduced with the kind permission of A Cocks at Cornwall Council

  • View Comments
  • Leave a Comment

No comments yet...why not be the first!

Click 'Leave a Comment' above.

Name: (as you would like it to appear on the website)

Email: (this will not be displayed on the website)

Comments: